Become our sponsor and display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Eisernes Kreuz ID; Which Class?

Article about: You of course have a Eisernes Kreuz - II. Klasse (Iron Cross, 2nd Class) - the other two are in sequence: Kriegsverdienstkreuz mit Schwertern - II. Klasse (War Merit Cross with Swords, 2nd C

?

Default Eisernes Kreuz ID; Which Class?

Hi: I have recently found several medals in a box my father had stuffed away in a junk pile in his basement...He was a WWII combat veteran, and I remember him showing me these many years ago...I am a complete novice at this, but I do know that one of the medals is the Iron Cross...Is there a way to determine the class of the medal (1st, 2nd, 3rd)? I would post a picture but my daughter has taken my digital camera to a Christmas party with my grandsons(?)...If needed, I can post a picture tomorrow sometime...Thanks a lot for your advice...

Steve in Kansas
    Last edited by Adrian; 12-25-2011 at 02:39 AM. Reason: Title changed to use German terminology.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
    P
    Many

Default Re: Iron Cross ID; Which Class?

2nd class is on a ribbon (or at least has a suspension loop). 1st class has a pin on the reverse to attach it to clothing. Stewy

?

Quote by Stewy S View Post
    2nd class is on a ribbon (or at least has a suspension loop). 1st class has a pin on the reverse to attach it to clothing. Stewy
    Yes, this one has a loop for a ribbon...I really appreciate your response! Thanks so much...

Steve in Kansas, USA

?

Steve, welcome to the forum and thank you for posting. Obviously a photo would be the best thing so when you get your camera back please post a pic.
    As Stewy says, the second class is suspended from a ribbon, a first class will have either a pin on the reverse or a screwback device. A Ritterkreuz (Knights Cross) is also suspended from a ribbon but in a different way to a second class.