Combat-relics.com - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

EK2 (24) REAL or as fake as mother in laws smile......

Article about: hi everyone, im new to collecting EK2s and ive been reading your posts for quite a while and you obviously know your fakes from real. so can someone please I.D this for me and also explain t

Default EK2 (24) REAL or as fake as mother in laws smile......

hi everyone, im new to collecting EK2s and ive been reading your posts for quite a while and you obviously know your fakes from real. so can someone please I.D this for me and also explain the charicteristics (sorry if my spellings wrong) of a schinkel cross as thats what im looking for next, and also (sorry to be a pain) a rough price of how much i should prepare to part with for a nice example....btw my cross i got it for swapping a deact revolver as tbh i prefer the history behind medals. anyways thanks for your time and i look forward to hearing from you!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement EK2 (24) REAL or as fake as mother in laws smile......
    P
    Many

?

Default Re: EK2 (24) REAL or as fake as mother in laws smile......

David, welcome to the forum and for posting your cross.
    The EK2 you show is absolutely genuine and original so no worries there. It is marked '24' for the maker 'Arbeitsgemeinschaft der Hanauer Plaket-ten-hersteller' you might also look on the small suspension ring which is soldered to the top of the cross and see if there are any other small marks there. A feature of this maker was they sometimes stamped a small motif on this ring - no-one knows exactly why. There is a thread here regarding them.
    Schinkel crosses are a slightly different shape to a regular 1939 cross. The arms are thinner, and flare towards the ends, much like the Imperial shape.
    I've attached a pic below of a Schinkel, a regular and an Ubergrosse cross with their respective measurements to give you an idea of the differences in shape.