MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Guide to collecting Iron Cross 1939

Article about: The WW2 Iron Cross, has a Swastika on the centre core and marked 1939, the most copied is the Knights Cross of the Iron Cross, with fakes from of a very inferior quality, one piece construct

Default Re: Guide to collecting Iron Cross 1939

Quote by Adrian View Post
    It is a little strange but as far as I know done with the best of intentions. I don't close or delete threads if they show a fake item. The item is pointed out, discussed and we learn from it.
    This is no different in that respect, it's just done with words rather than pictures.

Therefore we, as a community and who are lucky enough to possess slightly more knowledge, are obliged to correct any wrong or misleading statements for the education of others. Just as we would point out if someone posted a fake medal or badge.

Point taken

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Guide to collecting Iron Cross 1939
    P
    Many

?

Quote by warRelic View Post
    The WW2 Iron Cross, has a Swastika on the centre core and marked 1939, the most copied is the Knights Cross of the Iron Cross, with fakes from of a very inferior quality, one piece construction, to the near perfect Knights Cross copy made of a 3x piece construction with silver frames made in Budapest Hungary today, copies are also made in Russia and Poland.

Only about 65% of all WW2 Iron Crosses had a LDO Number stamped either on the suspension ring or in the case of the Knights Cross on the frame, these numbers were given to each maker to keep track of quality control, the other 35% had their LDO Number, either on the Outer Brown Carton of the Presentation Box or on the Paper Bag that the Iron Crosses came in.