Adlermilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

How Did You Start Collecting EKs

Article about: I also have a nice one coming from Danny! Cheers |<

Default How Did You Start Collecting EKs

Hi

I was just wondering how some of the members of this forum started collecting EKs.

I started after seeing some of the amazing collections of EKs of this forum!

Thanks

Cameron

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement How Did You Start Collecting EKs
    P
    Many

Default Re: How Did You Start Collecting EKs

Seeing Adrian and Dannys amazing collections, and listening to their passion and enthusiasm for the subject inspired me to go from half a dozen EK's to this !!
    Attached Images Attached Images How Did You Start Collecting EKs 
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

?

I started several years ago now. I had spent alot of time collecting anything and everything (inculding a few fakes along the way) and had no focus to my collection.
    I decided I couldn't keep going as I was so I thought about what it was about my collection I liked the most and decided that EK2s were the direction I wanted to go in. I thought about how I should collect them and decided to try and get an example from every maker plus any others I really liked, on non standard ribbons etc. Also, they are relatively cheap so a decent collection could be had for a smaller outlay than if I had decided to collect pilots badges!
    I started collecting EKs by maker and quickly built up a good collection and eventually I had one from each PKZ maker. Then I went for the round 3s, Schinkels, Ubergrosse etc and the LDO marked crosses. I've nearly finished, the crosses I need to complete are the rare and expensive ones but that was to be expected.
    As the EKs slowed up I though about what else I like so started on Mutterkreuz and Minesweepers, photos of the EK2 being worn.