Military Antiques Stockholm - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 20 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 12 ... LastLast

Now & Then.. Ardennes Iconic Image Journey..

Article about: Many thanks for your time and effort Luckystrike , this is an awesome thread many injoyable times , cheers Raymond

Default Re: Now & Then.. Ardennes Iconic Image Journey..

I think this link is worth including here, it shows original film footage of Peipers advance and then the first 11km of the route of advance driven today (speeded up). You will see several of the locations of my Then and Now pictures.
    YouTube - Kampfgruppe Peiper and the first 11 km from Losheim to Honsfeld
    LUCKYSTRIKE

Great photos and flick! Thanks

Luckystrike

Outstanding thread

I cant stop looking at it !

Well done mate
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

?

Lucky this is a great pice of work , well done
    The gates of hell were opened and we accepted the invitation to enter" 26/880 Lance Sgt, Edward Dyke. 26th Bn Northumberland Fusiliers , ( 3rd Tyneside Irish )

1st July 1916

Thought shall be the harder , heart the keener,
    Courage the greater as our strength faileth.
    Here lies our leader ,in the dust of his greatness.
    Who leaves him now , be damned forever.
    We who are old now shall not leave this Battle,
    But lie at his feet , in the dust with our leader

House Carles at the Battle of Hastings

?

I would love to do a trip like this someday Great job.

This selection of pictures have taken me a little longer to prepare due to the number of them. But I feel it's justified due to the personal actions carried out during this battle, no less than 6 Congressional Medals of Honor were awarded to US troops fighting in the villages. This hard won action also created enough delay in the Northern sector advance to ensure that the German Ardennes Offensive was ultimately doomed to failure.