Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

My trip to Gallipoli and the Dardanelles

Article about: Thanks Luke No I didnt mate, I wasnt there long enough sadly I saw an amazing 3D film in a cinema with movement and smells of the sea battles from the view of a British battleship, it was ju

Default My trip to Gallipoli and the Dardanelles

During my family holiday to Turkey I managed to drive the 8 hours north to pay my respects to the fallen of Gallipoli.

A very sombre but fascinating place with some amazing museums detailing the landings and the trench war but what I found incredible was the sea battle in the Dardanelles where battleships from all nations involved were sunk.

Here are some pics:
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture My trip to Gallipoli and the Dardanelles   My trip to Gallipoli and the Dardanelles  

"In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

Default Re: My trip to Gallipoli and the Dardanelles

The Turkish cemetery
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture My trip to Gallipoli and the Dardanelles   My trip to Gallipoli and the Dardanelles  

My trip to Gallipoli and the Dardanelles   My trip to Gallipoli and the Dardanelles  

My trip to Gallipoli and the Dardanelles   My trip to Gallipoli and the Dardanelles  

"In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

The image on the hill is amazing thanks for the pics Nick.

Eric
    [h=3]e plu·ri·bus u·num[/h]

Welcome back, Nick. I was starting to worry about you. Looks like you had a great time. Nice photos!

Luke

Some of the British and Commomwealth cemeteries. I took some of pics of the graves of a couple of teenage boys who died a long way from home.

Some of the beaches where the allies landed.