Espenlaub Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

U-534

Article about: Hello Ladies & Gents today I visited with my good lady U-534 in Birkenhead..I have never seen a U-boat before so as we up that end of the world I thought sod it lets take a look. Now the

?

Yeah I agree with you Chris. If they hadn't done something with her soon she would have been scrapped & that would have been even worse!!!. Cheers Terry.

Sorry guys but you wouldnt cut up an intact Lancaster Bomber or Tiger Tank why on earth did they do this to one of only 3 surviving U Boats, it beggars belief!

The money spent on butchering it and humilatingly displaying it could have been spent on refurbishing it and making it display worthy in the form it terrorised the northern seas

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

?

Quote by Woolgar View Post
    Sorry guys but you wouldnt cut up an intact Lancaster Bomber or Tiger Tank why on earth did they do this to one of only 3 surviving U Boats, it beggars belief!

The money spent on butchering it and humilatingly displaying it could have been spent on refurbishing it and making it display worthy in the form it terrorised the northern seas

Nick
    Can only agree with the above. Nick is correct, the costs to establish the current exhibit should have been used in a different manner - one of only several U-Boats still viewable and the ONLY boat to have been raised. A great shame indeed.

But let's not have this thread descend into an argument regarding the use of the relic - the damage is already done. Instead, we can appreciate the images shared above and be thankful if we were among those fortunate enough to take part in the limited number tours that were organised earlier, or enjoy what is presently on show at the "U-Boar Story" exhibition today.

?