Steyer Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

British WWII Airborne helmet

Article about: Dear all, I have a Mk.III helmet and I bought it as an original one but I am not an expert on British helmets. Please, would it be possible for you take a look at the pics I have and help me

Default British WWII Airborne helmet

Dear all,

I have a Mk.III helmet and I bought it as an original one but I am not an expert on British helmets.

Please, would it be possible for you take a look at the pics I have and help me on determining whether my helmet is WWII period or not?

If it is, I have no idea about the current market price for it. Please, do you have any idea?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance and best regards,

Alex Triffoni.

British WWII Airborne helmetBritish WWII Airborne helmetBritish WWII Airborne helmetBritish WWII Airborne helmetBritish WWII Airborne helmetBritish WWII Airborne helmetBritish WWII Airborne helmetBritish WWII Airborne helmetBritish WWII Airborne helmetBritish WWII Airborne helmetBritish WWII Airborne helmetBritish WWII Airborne helmetBritish WWII Airborne helmetBritish WWII Airborne helmetBritish WWII Airborne helmet

British WWII Airborne helmet

?

A wartime example that has been repainted on the outside, most likely post war. The dark brown wartime textured paint is on the inside.
    Untouched these now go for a lot of money, yours as it has been over painted, are not that desirable to the purest, but still fetch well over £200, and on a good day more than double that.

Thank you very much Tinlid for your help!!!

Best regards,

Alex Triffoni.

Yours is the 4th type of Para steel helmet, the "HSAT Mk2". I agree with TinLid, I think it's WWII issue.

However, I'm sure that the chinstrap is post 1955. Para chinstraps get grubby after time so it's likely that the original chinstrap was replaced by it's user, postwar.