Espenlaub Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Fake maroon berets bonanza, can you spot them? Quiz time!

Article about: Guys, a couple of maroon berets were auctioned over the past few weeks on our favourite site. These are either: a) complete rubbish or, b) genuine post-war berets with a fake wartime date st

?

Fake RSR beret No1., £205.99.

Fake RSR beret No2, it can be yours for £350 later today.

?

Compton maroon beret from 1945.

Compton did make maroon berets, just not in WW2. The only examples I know of are from 1955 and 1964.

?

Genuine Belgium SAS maroon beret from WW2, sold for GBP 84.99.

It's complete rubbish.
    I feel sorry for the buyer. No I don't.

The SAS is a really poor attempt, must have been bought by a complete newbie.
    Regards,

Jerry

Whatever its just an opinion.

?

The beret from post #39 has been relisted, it now sold for £341.33.

Quote by LucN View Post
    The beret from post #39 has been relisted, it now sold for £341.33.
    His descriptions allows little room to return it as he never says it is original, just maker marked and dated without saying they are original period markings.......

A fool and their money!
    Regards,

Jerry

Whatever its just an opinion.

I'm sorry, but I am that fool. I was hoping it was real but after a chat with a collector from Canada it was thrown out of the window. On the plus side I put a request in with ebay stating it was a fake with pictures of a real one and they excepted this. It has been returned and awaiting a full refund. Now I know that I am not the first person to buy this and return it, a little chat will follow. I cant stand being ripped off by a con man.

?

I'm sorry to hear that you bought the beret, I hope you will get a full refund without any problems.

You may want to read Steve's wonderfully detailed thread on WW2 British berets. It has an abundance of information about various manufacturers.

?