Combat-relics.com - Top
Display your banner here

saw !!

Article about: firstly I apologise if this is in the wrong thread but I have the chance to buy this and need to know what country made it and is it a garrot or just a saw.

Default saw !!

firstly I apologise if this is in the wrong thread but I have the chance to buy this and need to know what country made it and is it a garrot or just a saw.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture saw !!  

Its a sinister looking object, I would say its a saw
    Nick
    Attached Images Attached Images saw !! 
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

thanks I assume it is british ww2.

The British ones i have seen have a thicker cutting blade

I see did any other countries use them.

handsaw
    this is the type French AP 88 C
    I think the teeth are quite similar and has nothing to do with ww2
    and is what is ,a handsaw simply

saw !!

saw !!

not a fairbairn camouflaged ,not a tool designed for kill.
    Jedem das Seine

?

Here is an example of the British folding saw. I'm not familiar with the pattern you show, but it seems to be missing the wooden pegs?
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture saw !!   saw !!  

saw !!  

?

Default Grammar

Quote by ireichit View Post
    firstly I apologise if this is in the wrong thread but I have the chance to buy this and need to know what country made it and is it a garrot or just a saw.

It is what is popularly known as a "Commando saw".

Originally designed to go into an E&E (Escape and Evasion), kit, it was designed with a multitude of uses in mind, including the two obvious ones mentioned, ie; Saw and garrotte, however, it could also be used as a snare of sorts.