Marna Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Lancaster flying over

Article about: We have a Lanc B Mk I here in the RAAF Museum in Perth, a non flyer now as she was received from the French Aeronavale in the early 60s still flyable after maritime patrol use in the Pacific

Default Lancaster flying over

The City of Lincoln Lanc flew over my village today. Did what I could with the camera as it was some way off.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Lancaster flying over   Lancaster flying over  

Lancaster flying over  

?

Default Re: Lancaster flying over

That Swallow is giving it a good run for it's money! Great pics, lucky you had your camera to hand!

Looking for LDO marked EK2s and items relating to U-406.....

Lucky you Dave You got a Merlin fix !

You got a good shot there mate

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

That’s the BBMF Lanc right??? I always get goose bumps when I see that!! That Lanc was built in the village where I grew up and most of my family including myself worked in the Factory where it was built! My parents next door neighbour worked on it as well as Wellingtons

It did pass over a lot closer over the back of the house but I was not ready or expecting it. Got the camera just in case she came back which she did. Yeah its the BBMF Lanc based at Conningsby, Lincs. I live about forty miles away. It has been over before but you just have to get lucky.

I saw on the Yorkshire news tonight it did a tribute flypast this afternoon to these guys:

The crew of World War II Lancaster W4904 remembered | Calendar - ITV News

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem