Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

pensioners from Lincolnshire have restored a rare WWII Lancaster bomber

Article about: by Gunny Hartmann Yeah, but Merlins were common to both!.. Yeah, and I also had SU carbs on my Mini Cooper years ago !!! I have worked on SU carbs quite alot and I am still amazed they worke

Default Re: pensioners from Lincolnshire have restored a rare WWII Lancaster bomber

Thats the first time I have seen that sad footage

It just seemed to stall

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

Default Re: pensioners from Lincolnshire have restored a rare WWII Lancaster bomber

Quote by Woolgar View Post

It just seemed to stall

Nick

Hi Nick,

Yes very sad, I grew up with that aircraft, used to be part of every summer, watching and hearing it flying around, the pilot used to do all his training routines around the airfield, we were only half a mile away, the pilot was a great chap although i never met him

When I worked at the factory when i was younger the Mossy was based in a hanger across the airfield from ours, used to see and hear it most days, it was totally restored in the late 80's and early 90s. Lovely aircraft, my favorite really

I think in the inquest to the pilots death, a jammed rudder was blamed for the accident, you can just see in the video, he just manages to get control of it but its too late

A big well done to the pensioners!..
    A real shame about the Mosquito and of course the pilot!..

Quote by Gunny Hartmann View Post
    A big well done to the pensioners!..
    A real shame about the Mosquito and of course the pilot!..
    Yeah Gunny, sorry if i gave the impression i didnt care about the pilot, was sad for both of them

Quote by Totenhead View Post
    Yeah Gunny, sorry if i gave the impression i didnt care about the pilot, was sad for both of them