Militaria Romandie - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Allegemeines Sturmabzeichen Fake ???

Article about: This is my first ASA and i want to hear your opinions about it. Original or Fake?

Default Allegemeines Sturmabzeichen Fake ???

This is my first ASA and i want to hear your opinions about it. Original or Fake?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Allegemeines Sturmabzeichen Fake ???
    P
    Many

It looks like a copy to me but I'm no expert on these.

Welcome to the forum Nico.

The badge is an interesting piece in that it's a difficult maker to find. It's a Franke & Co. type 1.22.1 hollow zinc badge, but i'm not sure that it's genuine. The art deco style head of the eagle is the defining pointer to this maker, but the poor overall detail on the obverse, the lack of the line that indicates the mouth on the beak, the missing eyebrow, the lack of cross hatching on the acorn cups the general rather gritty, pitted overall appearance and soft finish all worry me. The finish is also by far the brightest i've ever seen on an FCL badge of any kind. The reverse side isn't bad, but again, the round baseplate on the the catch looks too large and out of place.

I've yet to see a surefire fake of this type before though, so i'll reserve my judgment and wait to see what others more au fait with these Ground Assault Badges think, but as it stands, I have serious reservations i'm afraid.

Here's a couple of genuine FCL badges to compare the points i've highlighted. Note that one appears to have a round baseplate as well, but it's a lot less obtrusive if it's really there or just a blob of solder. The other could be similar or directly soldered on to the badge.

Sorry I can't be more precise!

Regards, Ned.

Allegemeines Sturmabzeichen Fake ???Allegemeines Sturmabzeichen Fake ???Allegemeines Sturmabzeichen Fake ???Allegemeines Sturmabzeichen Fake ???
    'I do not think we can hope for any better thing now.