Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Crash site Baltic sea

Article about: What I find disturbing is where is the rest of it? no large castings or wing sections apparent? There are a couple of interesting items there that need further examination. On the video you

Default Re: Crash site Baltic sea

You can upload the video to YouTube - Broadcast Yourself.
    Best Regards

Vegard T.
    Looking for militaria from 38. Batterie, Heeres Küsten Artillerie Regiment 977, also from 31, 32 and 36. Batterie.

I'm no expert, but haven't seen it mentioned yet:

Could it be a Mosquito?

Two engines plus some versions had .303 machine guns?

Excellent video. Very interesting indeed. Can't help any further on the ID of the aircraft but those 303s look like they are still in what's left of a turret.

Steve T

After watching the video it appears to me that the engines are indeed RR Merlins, I can see what looks like part of the supercharger housing and an entire carrburettor.

Reviewing the thread I got to looking at the grey painted plate stencilled 5B/1261 and wondered if the '5B' could stand for the Handley-Page (HP63) Halifax Mk VB.

The Halifax Mk V was virtually identical to the Mk II. The only difference was the use of the Dowty undercarriage in place of the Messier undercarriage used in the Mk II, which was in short supply. The Dowty undercarriage was used on the Avro Manchester and Lancaster bombers, but the version supplies for the Halifax used sub-standard castings, preventing the Mk V from being used with a full bomb load. This made the Mk V of limited use to Bomber Command, and so after it entered service in June 1943 most Mk Vs were transferred to other duties. In some ways the failure of the Mk V as a heavy bomber was fortunate. Many other RAF commands needed the capacity offered by the four engined heavies, but Bomber Command were very unwilling to release them for other duties.