Ratisbon's - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Suspected WW2 bomber found underwater off Magnetic Island, Queensland's far north.

Article about: May turn into an interesting story... Arvo Anson bomber Suspected WW2 bomber found underwater off Magnetic Island | Perth Now

Default Suspected WW2 bomber found underwater off Magnetic Island, Queensland's far north.

May turn into an interesting story...
    Arvo Anson bomber
    Suspected WW2 bomber found underwater off Magnetic Island | Perth Now

Default Re: Suspected WW2 bomber found underwater off Magnetic Island, Queensland's far north.

Interesting discovery ! However the Anson certainly wasnt a bomber. It was used in a Recon role

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

Default Re: Suspected WW2 bomber found underwater off Magnetic Island, Queensland's far north.

They DID have a bomb load capacity of 163kg (360lb) but yes Nick you are correct, they were not used as such.
    BUT, we used them for reconnaissance up the East Coast and if there had been a need to drop an egg on a Jap ship, I'm sure they would have "had a go" !!!

Dan

Quote by Danmark View Post
    They DID have a bomb load capacity of 163kg (360lb) but yes Nick you are correct, they were not used as such.
    BUT, we used them for reconnaissance up the East Coast and if there had been a need to drop an egg on a Jap ship, I'm sure they would have "had a go" !!!

Dan
    I'm sure they would too Dan

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

The Anson was designed as a light bomber and indeed was 'blooded' in action. The aircraft was superceeded by the Lockheed Hudson in 1939, but continued to be used for ASW duties into 1940 before being relegated to mainly training duties.