Espenlaub Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

German Glass Gobblet

Article about: Has anyone ever seen one of these before? No markings. Just the eagle engraved in the glass. Had it for a number of years and am just throwing it out there to see if anyone could identify. H

MAP
    ?

Default German Glass Gobblet

Has anyone ever seen one of these before? No markings. Just the eagle engraved in the glass. Had it for a number of years and am just throwing it out there to see if anyone could identify.

Had a hard time getting the camara to focus so the pic is not so crisp as I would like.

With the naked eye under normal light conditions it appears to be a very dark blue or black but with some back light (see around the rim above the eagle) it is actually a very dark brown.

It is 8 inches (20cm) high with a weight of 2.5lbs

Another observation (I'm not a glass expert) but the actual glass is clear (as you can see with the engraved eagle). It appears to have been tinted Brown (inside and out)

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

German Glass GobbletGerman Glass Gobblet.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement German Glass Gobblet
    P
    Many

Is it a wine glass? Is it for drinking. Whether old or new, the eagle is well made. Never seen anything like it.

MAP
    ?

Not deep enough for beer. Too large for schnaps. Has to be wine. Cup depth~ 8cm/3.5inches and width is 7.5cm/3inches.

I've asked everyone I know. Same answer..."Never seen anything like it" :-)

Thanks!

I like it. Looks like a period piece to me.........
    Regards,

Steve.

MAP
    ?

Thanks Steve. Bought from my childhood friend in need of cash many years ago. He got it at a garage sale. Would love to know if its real or not for sure and maybe what it is? Kriegs, Wehrmacht, Political???. But I think its really cool.

To me it looks Patriotic. Like something you might place
    on the mantle or bring out for special occasions.........
    Regards,

Steve.