Marna Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

wall eagle Opinion Please

Article about: This item is coming up at a local auction this weekend and is way out of my collecting knowledge but would like to own if it is possibly original. I will have a chance a view the item in per

Default wall eagle Opinion Please

This item is coming up at a local auction this weekend and is way out of my collecting knowledge but would like to own if it is possibly original. I will have a chance a view the item in person and am looking for some basics on what to look for. I have basic knowledge so looking for any key item that would stand out. My opinion based upon the pic is it has good detail (what can be seen on the front). My first question is there are two mounting holes? in the wings. I have not seen that in most examples. I am also assuming there were many makers since this was a very common item and should not be worth more than $150 IMHO. Thanks for taking the time to opine on very little info. I do not want to put too effort into something if, at first look, someone knows this is an obvious fake. The size claim is 28" X 16"

wall eagle Opinion Please

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement wall eagle Opinion Please
    P
    Many

?

Hello Rescue190,

Read this thread here on the forum for all kinds of knowledge.

Thread: https://www.warrelics.eu/forum/deuts...hsbahn-eagles/

The holes your seeing were drilled post war for maybe hanging by the vet or prior owner. These were taken off German Railway Cars at end of WWII. On the back you will normally find 3 posts and usually there were threaded rods for mounting. Sometimes cut or sheared off. You also find a stamped / molded in makers mark. Look here at this thread for much knowledge on those. There will also be material markings for content. Here is a link to one I have in my collection that had the holes drilled by prior owner. Deutsche Reichsbahn Railway Eagle - 27"