Military Antiques Stockholm - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 122 1 2 3 4 5 11 51 101 ... LastLast

Finds in the GARBAGE!

Article about: There is a thread about a member restoring US canteen. Taking dents outs. just look for it or a member will chim in about it.

Default Finds in the GARBAGE!

Hello all!

During the school year I am a high school history teacher. During the summer I am the manager of my family business.

My family owns a "C&D Processing Facility and Transfer Station." What this means is that we have a facility where junk removal companies, construction companies, etc. and even the general public bring us "clutter" they remove from attics, basements, garages, construction sites, etc. We even rent out large dumpsters that people fill with things they don't want anymore. We process and sort the material and then send it out for recycling.

Often, family members would rather throw out a loved one's belongings instead of sorting through it and bringing up sad memories. As you can imagine, we have come across some very valuable things. In addition, people can be very ignorant of the value/ historical relevance of things. Although I have yet to see it, I am sure there are people out there have seen a German helmet w Swastika decal... and they freak and would throw it out.

We always try to return lost items to their rightful owners, but often people do not care and do not want to be bothered by it...

We have found... puppies and kittens, wads of money hidden in mattresses and couches, jewlery, locked safes filled with stamp and coin collections, weapons, crates filled with unopened bottles of scotch from the 1940-60s...

"Big Box Stores" often bring us dumpsters FILLED with brand new items that went on clearance but never sold (lawn mowers, chain saws, snow blowers, clothing, etc.)... I guess it costs less for them to throw it out rather than reprocess it and send it back to their warehouses or manufacturer.