Wardmilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Japanese finds in my Dad's items

Article about: I found what I believe to be a set of dog tags and what I believe is a Japanese personal flag that they had signed by family and friends for good luck. Dad fought with USMC 4th Division A-1-

Default Japanese finds in my Dad's items

I found what I believe to be a set of dog tags and what I believe is a Japanese personal flag that they had signed by family and friends for good luck. Dad fought with USMC 4th Division A-1-24 on Kwajalein/Roi Namur, Saipan, Tinian, and Iwo Jima as a rifleman.

I would love to verify these and see if anyone can translate what's on them.

Japanese finds in my Dad's itemsJapanese finds in my Dad's itemsJapanese finds in my Dad's items

Paul Jackson
    PJAviation@comcast.net

Welcome to the forum.
    Both look like reproduction items to me but I am not an expert. The tags do not look correct and the writing on the flag as well as the flag construction does not look correct. Other with more knowledge will come along and correct me if I am wrong.
    John

They are not reproductions they were directly from my father who fought on the islands and these are some of several mementos he kept.

?

These flags are Seabee creations, and are almost identical to your flag. Please wait for further opinions.

Japanese finds in my Dad's itemsJapanese finds in my Dad's items

?

Flip the flag and re-take photo like visor did.

MAP
    ?

Looks like a Seabee creation to me as well. Could be wrong so wait for more opinions.