Espenlaub Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Trench Art ?

Article about: Hello Gents, I found this on Craig' s list today and thought it was cool so I bought it. The guy was selling everything that his dad sent home during his service in WWII. I have a hard time

Default Trench Art ?

Hello Gents, I found this on Craig' s list today and thought it was cool so I bought it. The guy was selling everything that his dad sent home during his service in WWII. I have a hard time understand why a son would sell off his fathers stuff but I guess he needed the money. I believe its supposed to be a cross or a plane. The coin in the front has a picture of the Reims Cathedral and is dated 1914. I was wondering if anyone here could tell me what the shell is. It is marked around the rim as follows: TS 4 17 C. It looks like a 30 06 round to me but I don't have any to compare. So is this what you would call "Trench Art"? Sorry for my ignorance but I'm still new at this. For $5.00 I thought I would take the chance.
    Thanks for looking
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Trench Art ?   Trench Art ?  

Trench Art ?  

Default Re: Trench Art ?

It certainly is "Trench Art" and would actually date from WW1. Well worth the $5 you paid.

I think you will find the round is for a French Lebel rifle.

What with the religious conatation to the coin, I would call this a Cross or Crucifix.

Cheers, Ade.

Jan
    ?

Ver nice and original Item from WW I ! Love it!

Rgds Jan

Beautiful piece of history there mate, I absolutely love it!

A bit of topic, but does anyone else hate the term 'trench art'? It drives me crazy!!! I don't mean the actual items themselves, just the word.

It's banded around FAR too much! Especially on eBay, when some bloody conman is selling all sorts of so called 'trench art' which is obviously fake, newly constructed rubbish!!

Sorry guys... Rant over! Haha

Thanks for the comments guys.

Ade thanks for the info on the shell!