Espenlaub Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Discussion: WW I Aviation - Is the sun setting, or is the dawn yet to come?

Article about: At this point, I think I have exhausted my ability to convey anything else that would actually add anything to what has been said in the follow-up comments. I would like to thank you all for

Question Discussion: WW I Aviation - Is the sun setting, or is the dawn yet to come?

First, I guess I better ask for forgiveness in advance for my ramblings below, but this is something I have been pondering for a few years. My love for this period and the accomplishments of the men who made it possible, has fueled a deep desire within me to share what I hold dear with everyone I am able. However, there don't seem to be many ears inclined to listening. My perception is that when it comes to WWI aviation, there is a close, small circle of collectors who share this love. I would like to hear some of your thoughts on the subject, and like to know if you have had similar thoughts and perceptions.

Often times I have pondered the level of interest in WWI aviation compared proportionally to the significance of historical accomplishment of the heroes of this long-past time. Each time I think that I have arrived at a point where I think I have obtained satisfactory insight into the mystery of seeming disinterest, I find myself right back where I began the journey of the mind.

From what I have been able to gather, the "hay day" of WWI aviation was in the 1960's-70's, when many of the pilots were still with us. Since then, the interest seems to have dwindled away except in the hearts of the old time collectors, and a few of us new guys who have the same passion as our older colleagues.