Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Messerschmitt Me 262 Aces

Article about: Watching Red Tails I wondered who the top scoring 262 Ace was. After researcing the jury seems to be out ! Who do you guys think ? Hauptmann Franz Schall Oberleutnant Kurt Welter Oberleutnan

Default Messerschmitt Me 262 Aces

Watching Red Tails I wondered who the top scoring 262 Ace was.

After researcing the jury seems to be out !

Who do you guys think ?

Hauptmann Franz Schall
    Oberleutnant Kurt Welter
    Oberleutnant Heinrich Bär

or someone else ?

What an awesome aircraft by the way !

I have seen the one in the museum at Speyer in Germany and the beauty at Cosford!

It was my fave plastic model too, I loved building and painting them

Thanks

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

?

Default Re: Messerschmitt Me 262 Aces

Hi Nick,here`s a list I found,it may or may not be accurate,I actually sat in a 262 at Downsview ontario airport after they had one brought there.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Messerschmitt Me 262 Aces  
    JEDEM DAS SEINE

Wow! Lucky you! How did it feel?

Thanks for the stats

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

That must I been a great experience to sit in one of them.
    You are very lucky.
    chris

?

They used to allow model airplane meets to be held on the runways,this was around 1950,I wandered into one of the hangers and asked if I could sit in it,he said OK!! All I can remember about it was playing with the gunsight,I was 15 at the time and it was really neat. Here`s a pic I found on the `net of when they were shipping it out to somewhere.
    Attached Images Attached Images Messerschmitt Me 262 Aces 
    JEDEM DAS SEINE

Here's a bit of info about Pete's 'Sturmvogel'.