Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Some interesting B-17 photos

Article about: I have been working with an estate clearer and he has been digging up some good pictures out of Hamilton Field in California and these are the most recent ones he has brought to me. They are

Default Some interesting B-17 photos

I have been working with an estate clearer and he has been digging up some good pictures out of Hamilton Field in California and these are the most recent ones he has brought to me. They are official Army pictures but I had not seen them before. The P-40 pictures are pretty cool too!
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Some interesting B-17 photos   Some interesting B-17 photos  

Some interesting B-17 photos   Some interesting B-17 photos  

Default Re: Some interesting B-17 photos

What year were these taken Gary?

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

?

Great photos .

Hi Gary,

Nice photo's!!

The bomber pic's actually show the prototype B-17, the 'Model 299'. The engines appear to be Pratt & Whitney R-1690's that were only fitted to the 299, the near identical follow up aircraft were designated XB-17's and were powered by Wright Cyclone engines i believe.

The Model 299 crashed during acceptance trials for the USAAC on the 30th of October 1935 whilst being flown by AAC test pilot Major Ployer Hill and Boeing chief test pilot Les Tower, who were both killed, all other crew members survived.