Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

USAAF base dump - Another fantastic find!

Article about: I paid a visit to the USAAF dump yesterday that I have been digging for a few years now. Indeed, this was my second visit this year, the first one resulting in some nice finds, including a c

Default USAAF base dump - Another fantastic find!

I paid a visit to the USAAF dump yesterday that I have been digging for a few years now. Indeed, this was my second visit this year, the first one resulting in some nice finds, including a chunk of P51, (you may have seen the thread posted a few weeks back).

On this visit I took some extra manpower with me, in the shape of my son. This meant we could cover quite a bit more area than me digging alone so I was hopeful of some good finds.

After an hours digging and having to put up with some truly awful smells, (my son had terrible wind and kept farting down the bottom of the 5 foot deep hole we were both in……little fecker), we hadn’t much to show for our efforts. I was moderately happy with a nice blue poison bottle we had found, and was keen to clean up a couple of spoons we had also found, but apart from that, the day was good, but not memorable.

I took a break whilst my son shifted some spoil and was kicking around in that same spoil when something flew past my head, landing in the soil next to me.

‘Bloody coat hook!’ mumbled my son from the bottom of the hole. ‘Sorry. Did that nearly hit you?’

‘Nearly. Try and remember I’m sat behind you eh?’ I replied and picked up the ‘coat hook’.

Well, suffice to say I am surprised nobody heard the swearing!!! Coat hook??? NOT BLOODY LIKELY !!! It was one of the best finds ever from this dump and I could do nothing but stare at the ‘coat hook’ for 5 minutes, swearing under my breath, whilst my son sniggered at the bottom of the hole.

The item is at the bottom of this thread…….