Military Antiques Stockholm - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

A battlefield treasue dug duing the battle 1944!!!

Article about: Nice story! I spotted some Belgian, Dutch, German and French coins in the hoard. The hoard couldn't have been burried for a very long time as some of the coins are war time coins like the Du

Default Re: A battlefield treasue dug duing the battle 1944!!!

A nice variety in there I can even see a 'two bob bit'

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

?

Thanks Nick!

?

I would imagine that you have quite a valuable collection within that hoard, Roman coins, depending on era and scarcity have proven to fetch quite a great of money in their own right, i would also check the dates on the British pennies, some of these at the right date have proven very valuable, a check on google re coin valuations might help, also a local museum may help that has a selection of various artifacts, good luck with it

Well, it is very hard to belive all these coins are from the lot discovered in 1944/45. There are too many different coins from differend parts of world and different centuries. Just my opinion. There is even 1 Russian coin from the 19-th century.

Hi,
    i dont see what is wrong in having all those different coins in one place, i used to collect coins and have many from all over the world ( very old ones ) i even have some of the roman ones shown.
    so i cant see why it is hard to believe.
    Dave.

?

Thanks Dave for the tips. It would be great if they were worth something! I really appreciate the insite..Cheers,
    Edwin