Damn Yankee - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Problems with Customs / Officials / Police?

Article about: by GasMasksUK Coming back into the UK by ferry isnt that bad, it was pretty much a matter of staying on the bus and having a guy to come round and check the passports. No one had things conf

Default Problems with Customs / Officials / Police?

Im new to battlefield archaelogy and I hope you'll bear with some of my posts and rants.

1. I'd like to ask if anyone has had issues with airport customs or officials when bringing in your metal detector?

2. How about going back? Any issues bringing your ground relics? (of course no ammo), but how about other relics?

3. Do these pieces need to be washed and cleaned up to remove traces of soil as I understand myself here in the UK, we are not allowed to bring back anything that contains soil particles.

4. During your digs... if you're stopped by the police... what do you do? i think thats a goner? Im heading to Czech Republic. Ive heard that there're no rules against MD there, so it should be fine, but as a foreigner...things might just be different.

Some advice would be appreciated.
    thanks.

Default Re: Problems with Customs / Officials / Police?

Military

Check here for laws in Czechoslovakia

Carol Marcum, c/o Czech Detecting Tours - FAQ

Always get the land owners permission before digging. If you're in any doubt ASK the local police before you start !

I have never used a plane to go to countries to metal detect so can't answer the other questions i am afraid. Other guys on the forum have though and I am sure they will help.

Steve T

Coming back into the UK by ferry isnt that bad, it was pretty much a matter of staying on the bus and having a guy to come round and check the passports. No one had things confiscated, I had a relic K98 and a friend had a selection of German, French and British grenades.

Thanks

Danny

Danny,