Military Antiques Stockholm - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Spanish fighting knife

Article about: Hi ! Someone of you folks have, (or can get), further information´s regarding this spanish fighting knife ? Thx. in advance, R.

Default Re: Spanish fighting knife

Spanish fighting knifeSpanish fighting knifeSpanish fighting knife
    Quote by Datrus View Post
    I am almost sure this knife is more a sort of a survival knife than a fighting knife. The Kukri like blade tells that. It's much more efficient as a light chopping tool, skinning on so forth, than for combat/fighting. I can say i have some knowledge about both categories of knives.
    IMO a fighting knife indeed.
    The very long crossguard implies the application of this knife as combat knife.
    For use as a tool this kife´s a little too tiny, I assume.

Mystery of the Spanish Survival Bolo (how Rare is it?)

You can see, the commando soldier´s only wearing this knife, not any other combat knife ...

measurements:
    overall lenght: ca. 25 cm
    blade lenght: ca. 14 cm
    width of the blade: ca. 18 mm, (on the crossguard), till ca. 35 mm
    strenght of the blade, (on the crossguard): ca. 6 mm

Rgds.,

R.

Spanish fighting knifeSpanish fighting knifeSpanish fighting knife
    Quote by Walkwolf View Post
    ... I'd like to find a book or instruction manual on these
    if one was issued, to find out how they were
    supposed to be used.
    Hi, Steve !

Found this knife in the paperback Knives of War - An International Guide to Military Knives from World War I to the present by Gordon Hughes, Barry Jenkins and Robert Buerlein
    ISBN 10: 1-58160-516-1
    ISBN 13: 978-1-58160-516-7
    Paladin Press - Boulder, Colorado
    on page 104, chapter 10, Contemporary knives since World War II

The knive is termed as "Survival bolo" there.

There´re scabbards made of green webbing also.

?