Steyer Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Info about 1957 Iron Cross and War Merit Cross.

Article about: I am new to the study of 1957 Knights Cross of the Iron Cross and the War Merit Cross. Is there a book I can use as a reference? R/ Tom

Default Info about 1957 Iron Cross and War Merit Cross.

I am new to the study of 1957 Knights Cross of the Iron Cross and the War Merit Cross. Is there a book I can use as a reference? R/ Tom

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Info about 1957 Iron Cross and War Merit Cross.
    P
    Many

?

Default Re: Info about 1957 Iron Cross and War Merit Cross.

'The Iron Cross of 1939' and 'The War Merit Cross' both by Gordon Williamson both have sections within them devoted to the 1957 versions. I'm not aware of a specific work dedicated to them although others may know differently.

There are plenty of thread here on the forum for you to begin your study!

Looking for LDO marked EK2s and items relating to U-406.....

Adrian is correct, there are no dedicated 57er books as yet, some books like the two mentioned by Adrian mention them in passing, but even these do not give any credible information, like makers, mm marks, the difference between early and late pieces. My best advice is to sit down and trawl through this site, on the Bundeswehr sub section and look for threads/posts on the 1957 awards....to start you off..... the early 1957 EK's (Iron Cross) are the most desirable, especially very early examples that have left over wartime parts (mm suspension rings,pins,hinges,back plates etc) two main makers for these are St u L and Deumer, there were others....as the years rolled on the quality dropped, as did the number of makers....leaving just St u L by the 1970's, they even dropped the magnetic core around this time, the soldering was not good and frosting non existent ! However IMO these crosses are still to be collected..There is a huge variety of 1957 EK's (& awards) to be collected...