Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

portable black light

Article about: Newbie here went to my local gun shop to check out a ss side cap that look to good to be true and it was my brand new portable black light showed all of th evil doings my question how about

Default portable black light

Newbie here went to my local gun shop to check out a ss side cap that look to good to be true and it was my brand new portable black light showed all of th evil doings my question how about when it has been washed in todays modern soap does anybody know how to tell the differnce

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement portable black light
    P
    Many

Default Re: portable black light

modern laundry detergent contains phosphorous and related compounds that can cause anything washed with this stuff to glow.

such an item should show an evenly distributed and slight glow across the entire piece with little variance across changes in fabric if there are any. in a piece that would have glowed whether washed or not, i would think the glow would be a little more intense and you'd see that intensity change across fabric types such what you might see coming from piping as compared to what you might see coming from a label on the same piece.

this isn't always true and i'd have to make this determination as to whether a glow is coming from detergent or use of contemporary fabrics on a case-by-case basis with the item in hand.

maybe you could wash it again without detergent and see if the glow fades? i've never tried that before, but from the perspective of chemistry, i'd think if a glow was coming from the use of detergents, washing it again a second time without detergents would remove some of the phosphorous compounds and thus remove some of the glow.

in addition, there are solutions used by hunters sometimes which will greatly subdue any glow found in a modern fabric.