Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

My little cap collection so far!

Article about: Some shots of my favorite item of my entire collection, the prewar-made Wilheim Welhausen pioneer officer's cap with velvet piping, soft leather peak and all-bullion insignia: Notice that th

KSH
    ?

Default My little cap collection so far!

Hi guys,

In lack of anything better to do I took out my three caps (so far) and I put them side by side, something I've never done before, as I don't display anything, period

To the left is a decent quality officer's visor (might be an OKK-issue - it is unmarked) to an officer in the Army's medical branch, with nice cornflower blue piping. It has a tombak eagle which matches the cockade just perfectly - I find it a nice change from the standard silver ones. It is a bit out of shape, but I find that just charming - it was my first visor.

In the middle is a somewhat more rare cap - it is a nice private purchase example of a Luftwaffe EM/NCO cap with white piping for the "Hermann Göring"-unit. It has matching aluminium insignia and a nice ribbed black rayon lining - the black cap band is also made of rayon which is typical for high-quality private purchase pieces. It is in near stonemint condition. (This cap is a little further away from the camera than the others, so it appears smaller than it is).

To the right is my latest acquisition and my undisputed favorite of them all: A prewar Wilhelm Welhausen made pioneer officer cap of exceptional quality. The most impressive part of it in many ways is the black velvet piping (velvet piping is extremely rare). A nice touch is that the three rings of piping are all of different widths, thin at the bottom, medium in the middle and wide at the top. It has a soft leather visor and all-bullion insignia.

A small unimportant assembly I know, but it will grow hopefully

Regards,

Kenneth
    Last edited by KSH; 07-24-2021 at 03:02 PM.

2. # ADS