Military Antiques Stockholm - Top
Display your banner here

Possible German overcoat/great coat

Article about: Hi, firstly I apologize if this is posted in the wrong area. I'm very new to this and I am trying to identify this coat. I was going through some old trunks of my grandfathers and I came acr

gothicrhapsody
    ?

Default Possible German overcoat/great coat

Hi, firstly I apologize if this is posted in the wrong area. I'm very new to this and I am trying to identify this coat. I was going through some old trunks of my grandfathers and I came across a huge wool jacket. It's double breasted with six buttons unless you claspe together the part that would have covered the mouth then it has eight. The buttons are a gold color with what appears to be a Lion crest and on the back it has two six pointed stars and says J. Fonson Brux. In the back of it there is a belt with three of the buttons and
    there are three more buttons down the center of the back of it that open up like a duster. It has a clothe lining that has been stamped 4 G and there is a tag.

The tag says Kusseneers C. Wavurse Steenweg, 61 or (or 6L it's fading) Lier. Totale hoogte: 132 Sorstomvang or Sorstornvang 52 + 2 Muat: 4 G

This is a link to my photobucket account Pictures by gothicrhapsody - Photobucket

Any help is greatly appreciated.

2. # ADS

Default Re: Possible German overcoat/great coat

hi there i think this great coat is belgium from the 50s if i remember correctly i had one a few years back with the same buttons

Correct, it is a Belgian coat.
    Always looking for Belgian Congo stuff!
    http://out-of-congo.eklablog.com/

cheers
    |<ris

gothicrhapsody
    ?

Quote by stuka f View Post
    Correct, it is a Belgian coat.
    Thank you both. On the tag it has the year 1937 stamped into it.

What does the reverse of the buttons say. I tought they were later patern, 1950 like mentioned before.
    You are showing one, but the pic is not that clear.