Ratisbon's - Top
Display your banner here

Is this an NCO Police Saber?

Article about: Hey all. To me, this looks like a standard NCO sword and someone welded a police eagle emblem to it. Did these ever exist? Thank you for your help. Annoyed from this ads?  

Default Is this an NCO Police Saber?

Hey all. To me, this looks like a standard NCO sword and someone welded a police eagle emblem to it. Did these ever exist? Thank you for your help.

Is this an NCO Police Saber?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Is this an NCO Police Saber?
    P
    Many

Somebody? Anybody?

I'm far from an expert, but IMHO it looks to be an NCO saber with a police eagle attached just as you said. I've never seen anything like this before. And my guess is that someone added the eagle at a later date to increase the value. Hopefully one of the experts will chime in soon.

-Jake

Here is an example of a Police NCO's sword for reference

http://www.ww2daggers.com/catalogue/...ice/20632.html

The emblem that appears to have been added to the NCO sword looks like a grip emblem from a Polizei bayonet, I can't tell if the emblem itself is period or not. Based on the overall appearance of the sword, I'd say it was much more likely that the emblem was added to tart up a bland item with the intention of it selling faster & for more money.

?

There is a sword somewhat like this pictured in the Angolia book Swords is Germany 1900-1945. The sword is the same but the eagle is larger and covers the area of the hilt.

?