Espenlaub Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Is this railway eagle authentic please?

Article about: I have seen this eagle for sale but the detail is softer than I was expecting. It has been drilled through the top mount pads and has cast in GAL MG SI F13 (maybe?) 28"x15" Any tho

?

Default Is this railway eagle authentic please?

Is this railway eagle authentic please?Is this railway eagle authentic please?Is this railway eagle authentic please?Is this railway eagle authentic please?
    I have seen this eagle for sale but the detail is softer than I was expecting. It has been drilled through the top mount pads and has cast in GAL MG SI F13 (maybe?) 28"x15"
    Any thoughts appreciated.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Is this railway eagle authentic please?
    P
    Many

?

Default Re: Is this railway eagle authentic please?

Al,

I'm no expert, but i've looked at others that are genuine and the quality of casting, finish and definition is far superior to this one. It also closely resembles many out there that are being sold as reproductions. That crack in the back is a casting fault, not the result of later damage, and as such would never have passed Q.C.

The genuine ones just ooze quality one expects of German engineering compared to this poor representation which does not. The lettering on the back is also the same as these repro's whereas the genuine ones are completely different and bolder. Too many red flags for me, but perhaps someone else knows more.

As an aside, GAL-MG-SI stands for Aluminium-Magnesium-Silicone.

Regards, Ned.
    'I do not think we can hope for any better thing now.
    We shall stick it out to the end, but we are getting weaker of course, and the end cannot be far.
    It seems a pity, but I do not think I can write more. R. SCOTT.
    Last Entry - For God's sake look after our people.'