Marna Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

'A close shave' !

Article about: Lets see any 'near miss' pics you know of. Here is a pic of Halifax bomber HR837. The crew were very fortunate when flying over Cologne in June 43. A bomb from a Halifax flying above them pa

Default 'A close shave' !

Lets see any 'near miss' pics you know of.

Here is a pic of Halifax bomber HR837. The crew were very fortunate when flying over Cologne in June 43. A bomb from a Halifax flying above them passed right through the fuselage without detonating!!

Nick
    Attached Images Attached Images
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

Default Re: 'A close shave' !

I have often wondered just how many heavy bombers were hit by friendly bombs. Thx for the pic Wool.

?

I also have one of these "Right name, but Wrong adress" photos, i found it on the web.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Quote by octavian View Post
    I have often wondered just how many heavy bombers were hit by friendly bombs. Thx for the pic Wool.
    Me too!

They think that Glenn Miller's aircraft was a casualty of something similar

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

Phew. When I read the thread's title I thought you had just walked away from another car crash!

Quote by TrondK View Post
    I also have one of these "Right name, but Wrong adress" photos, i found it on the web.
    Ouch!! That is a lucky escape!

Nick

?

Not all sniperdamaged helmets are post45.

I bet his pants smelled Pee, and also look at the crew in the plane. Those guys had to return to the base without knowing if the plane would stay in one piece.

?

I don't have any photos unfortunately but a colleague of mine, Henry Buckton is a well known author and historian who has written several books about the war.