Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here

Pitty!

Article about: Bomb squad destroys WWII wine cache | Daily wine news - the latest breaking wine news from around the world | News | decanter.com

Default Re: Pitty!

Good story. Indeed what a shame.

Cheers, Ade.
    Had good advice? Saved money? Why not become a Gold Club Member, just hit the green "Join WRF Club" tab at the top of the page and help support the forum!

What a shame! Those bottles of wine would have fetched a good price at auction

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

take your chances with the bombs, grab the bottles! lol

Hi,
    Great story what a pitty they have blown it all up, you cant take chances it may have been the last time you saw a good wine,lol.
    Dave.

Yes indeed, a pity and a waste. Let's put this in perspective. There are two UXBs lying around which haven't gone off in over 70 years. And if no one gets terminally stupid and kicks one or moves it, they probably won't go off for another 70 years. So, if the sergeant could handle the wine bottles to the extent of reading the labels and reporting the vintage, couldn't those bottles just as well have been carried out of the bunker? Admittedly, I don't know exactly what the situation down there was, or what the proximate relationship of the bombs was to the wine rack. But it seems to me that if the sergeant was able to safely pick-up several bottles, the immediate situation wasn't all that critical. On the other hand, those disposal men were there to do a specific job, not salvage vintage wine, so it's probably just a matter of the wine bottles being in the wrong place. Sigh... Dwight

Hell with the wine....what Else might have been down in that time capsule of a bomb shelter?? Ridiculous over-reaction....
    William

"Much that once was, is lost. For none now live who remember it."

?