Become our sponsor and display your banner here
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Ruining learning about WW2

Article about: As a certified high school history teacher, I definitely agree that the scope of what we teach is absolutely too broad and not in enough detail. Unfortunately, with these big standardized te

Default Re: Ruining learning about WW2

Ulysses S Grant, General who later became President of the United States, Dwight... His biography is sitting on my bookshelf - my collection of volumes on military history is nothing if not eclectic. I have stuff ranging from the Napoleonic wars right up to the first Gulf War via Crimea, Vietnam and the Falklands.

Guess in schools in particular, the emphasis is on getting kids through the exams to make league tables and the like look good - it's the same here in the UK. Surely though, in higher education a certain amount of reading around the subject and self-teaching is expected of a student; I know it was of me, though I studied engineering and later materials science, not history.

But some of this stuff is just basic general knowledge. Having said that, going by the photos, I wouldn't mind to be in Joe's history classes. I always did prefer practicals to theory myself...

Reynard, Several centuries ago, I read the autobiography of Grant. If you haven't read it, it's definitely worth the time and effort-it's a great book!
    William

"Much that once was, is lost. For none now live who remember it."

Quote by drmessimer View Post