Rg-militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast

Wartime hotels, restaurants and bars

Article about: As a hotelier of long standing I like to see period photos of hotels, restaurants and bars particularly with a military connection. I saw this one yesterday of Aussies drinking at an improvi

Great pic Ned! That Champagne is certainly making them forget their likely fate

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

A happy group of drinkers.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Regards,

Jerry

Whatever its just an opinion.

Quote by big ned View Post
    A convivial little group of Imperial German Airforce types celebrate Christmas 1917 somewhere in France.

Attachment 687335
    I love this photo - I've always thought that the only sober one there was the bloke in the center that's looking daggers at the one with his arm around his neck.

Quote by Allegra View Post
    I love this photo - I've always thought that the only sober one there was the bloke in the center that's looking daggers at the one with his arm around his neck.
    Here's a couple more, they're from an article in the Daily Mail, they were published last year when a photo album turned up at auction in Essex after the relative of a British soldier who 'liberated' the album put it up for sale after inheriting it.

article-2397887-1B608358000005DC-327_964x674.jpgarticle-2397887-1B60835C000005DC-924_964x639.jpg
    'I do not think we can hope for any better thing now.
    We shall stick it out to the end, but we are getting weaker of course, and the end cannot be far.
    It seems a pity, but I do not think I can write more. R. SCOTT.
    Last Entry - For God's sake look after our people.'

In memory of Capt. Robert Falcon Scott, Edward Wilson, Henry Bowers, Lawrence Oates and Edgar Evans. South Pole Expedition, 30th March 1912.

Quote by big ned View Post