Rg-militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast

World War II video games. Your thoughts?

Article about: by ObKrieger And another! This is great, guys. We need to have some campaigns. My favorite mods for CC5 are the Battle of Berlin, Stalingrad, and Scheldt ones. I had some computer issues ear

Default Re: World War II video games. Your thoughts?

Quote by Stinschen View Post
    Carl, oh yes, and the sound of the alarm going off... I love it! My favorite part is when I get to kill crippled ships using the 88 deck gun... now, THAT is almost orgasmic!!
    And you never get too old!
    You sound like Xenia Onnatopp from the James Bond film Goldeneye !!

Xenia Onatopp - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

Quote by TIGER88 View Post
    Generally though, anything that raises awareness in the younger generation is good, as long as it isn't just a stupid "shoot-em-up" where your character goes around killing hundreds of sprites. That won't teach anything productive at all. Books however...

Regards,

Carl
    That's the problem, Carl! A lot of students just switch right off when you have them do anything with books! To be honest, I doubt a lot of my students have ever read a book! This is one of the main reasons I like to bring in relics for them to get "hands on" with history.

With videogames, I can ask my students if they've ever played a specific level from a historically-accurate game and then relate that to my lesson for the day. I just have to be sure to stress that there was no such thing as super soldiers who could absorb 100 bullets at a time, or hide in a corner and have their health regenerate!