Marna Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Magazine: Arnhem resurrected/Arnhem Herrijst

Article about: Hi Guys, I just took a couple of pics of this magazine for a friend as it contains some pics taken from the film "Theirs is the Glory". So I thought I would share them with you her

Default Magazine: Arnhem resurrected/Arnhem Herrijst

Hi Guys, I just took a couple of pics of this magazine for a friend as it contains some pics taken from the film "Theirs is the Glory". So I thought I would share them with you here.

The rest of the magazine from November 1946 covers the rebuilding of the town after the war.

Cheers, Ade.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Magazine: Arnhem resurrected/Arnhem Herrijst   Magazine: Arnhem resurrected/Arnhem Herrijst  

Default Re: Magazine: Arnhem resurrected/Arnhem Herrijst

Not seen that film before. Is that David Niven in the picture?

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

Hi Nick, you are missing a treat!

You must get to see it. The director, Brian Desmond Hurst, decided he wanted to tell the story of Arnhem. So, with the co-operation of the Army, he filmed it on location in Arnhem using only men who had fought there the year before as the actors! Imagine if such a thing was suggested to soldiers of today

So no film stars took part. You can get it on DVD.

It is very typical of the period. I have been priviledged to know a couple of men who took part in the film. 200 volunteered as the pay was good!

I am now in contact with Hurst's Great Nephew, Allan, who is launching a website about the film. hence me doing these pics. Once it is up, I will post a link on the forum.

Cheers, Ade.

Quote by Adrian Stevenson View Post
    Hi Nick, you are missing a treat!