Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Paint on soviet shovel

Article about: Hi, before I ask my question, let me introduce myself. My name is Martyn and I have just started RKKA reenacting after leaving the Civil War hobby (been reenacting for 8 years already). I ha

?

Default Paint on soviet shovel

Hi, before I ask my question, let me introduce myself.

My name is Martyn and I have just started RKKA reenacting after leaving the Civil War hobby (been reenacting for 8 years already). I have been perusing this forum as a guest for a couple months and decided since I spend so much time here I may as well create an account.

My question is what was the type of paint most commonly found on Soviet shovels during the war? Or can someone direct me to a source (internet, books, etc.) in which that I can find the information? I have started collecting books and other resources but am always looking for more solid material.

I decided to take a bullet for my unit and pick up a repop that was based on the RKKA shovel and while it was not quite up to my standards, I decided to keep it and make some modifications so it can better pass until I can pick up the real deal. The last touch is repainting it the light olive drab color. I am just unsure as to whether it was acryllic or enamel (I'm thinking enamel) and whether it had a shine or was a dull non reflecting paint.

Any help is appreciated, thanks!

-Martyn

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Paint on soviet shovel
    P
    Many

Default Re: Paint on soviet shovel

I am reasonably sure the paint in the second war was largely all types of enamel.

I also suspect the red army paint was not all exactly one percise shade of green. I have a Red army shovel that was used after capture by the Finns, and over painted a bit.

I am fairly sure that shovels in many of the European armies were often from other armies! What does YOUR unit require?? FOr if your unitsays NO! it really doesnt matter how good your paint is!