Become our sponsor and display your banner here
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

bc-611 I need help!!!!!! what is this....

Article about: when i got this the green cone deal was screwed onto there the little glass protector is or whatever it is, where that thing is screwed in now, is just a base where you can hold it. So im th

?

Default Re: bc-611 I need help!!!!!! what is this....

This is my first time looking at this radio. I work on and repair radio's were I am employed(Air traffic control maintenance,Radio's ,Radar navigational equipment) Electronics is my career. I have worked in this field for the past 34 years. Both with Ground and Aircraft equipment.
    I was just looking at the schematic and the thing I thought was the Crystal ("battery holder")is the antenna inductor (L1) In the schematic picture.http://www.vk2bv.org/museum/k-files/bc611.gif on the left side of pic!!!!
    The other wires might be from the On/Off switch. I read also, and so did you that it turns on when the antenna was pulled out. Since somebody modified that radio, they must have disconnected those wire. This is just a guess I would need to follow those wire to where they go and then look at the schematic to tell you for sure.

Well it's Midnight Here!! I am going to finish my drink and hit the sack!!! If you have anymore questions , I will answer them tomorrow. Its my day off. So I'll talk to ya later!!!!

Semper Fi
    Phil

?

Oh one more thing you asked about the antenna, You need to have some sort of antenna. You could damage the transmitter section of it with out the proper load to the circuit. You will over drive the amplifiers and burn them up!!!
    Take Care
    Semper Fi
    Phil