Rg-militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Confusing Dig Find

Article about: Hi everybody, this is my first time on your site so if my etiquette is wrong or I make mistakes please feel free to correct me. Thanks. I have dug these up in a field (S.France) They are spr

He shouldn't be in such a hurry to get to his own Barbecue...
    Glenn

Hi again and thank you all very much for all the warnings, (and your concern). In all honesty this wouldn't have crossed my mind.... Its not a certainty that it will be still there but I am hoping to take a trip to see. After all the warnings I am now going to tread very carefully. I hope to loosen the surrounding earth and use a winch from overhanging branch to ease it up, from a safe distance, maybe from inside/behind a nearby bunker , namely the small lookout type building in the pics below the photos of the (suspected) flamethrower. This is a good 20 metres + from the dig site. Any ideas of the type of booby traps used should there be something? Side mounted, or below the item itself. Any advice gratefully received. Incidentally my shoe size is 11 uk. lol. Thanks again. Will keep you all posted, health permitting of course. Kind regards, Francis.

The most common method was to simply wire a grenade to the bottom...
    What you've discovered appears to be the ammo-storage dump for the nearby Battery, which looks to have been blown up during a pre-invasion bombing raid...These batteries -and their rear-supporting positions- were most often protected by a perimeter of mines & such static flamethrowers...
    cheers, Glenn