Steyer Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Need help real or fake discs?

Article about: thanks matt

Default Need help real or fake discs?

Hi all, Im still trying to purchase my first id tag, I came across these 2 and since Im new to the hobby I wanted to run them by you before I purchase them, so do they look good???
    Need help real or fake discs?Need help real or fake discs?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Need help real or fake discs?
    P
    Many

Default Re: Need help real or fake discs?

Are these both from the same seller?

No two different sellers

OK, I was just commenting as both discs have pencil lines drawn for ease of stamping, to me this isn't so common as more often i've seen a light scratch line drawn for that purpose. Matt L is the resident expert here so hopefully he'll be along shortly to comment.

Anyway, of the two I like the Artillery tag the most, i'm sure it is legit, the letters are a more period serif font, the wear and corrossion look convincing and there is nothing I see to indicate a forgery.

The Grenadier disc i'm not so sure about. While not a red flag in and of itself, sans serif fonts always make me look twice and from this angle the 'R' looks like the same font as the R on this fake infantry regiment disc I have on file.

If it were me, i'd be leaving the GR disc behind and going for the Artillery, assuming the price is right of course.

?