Become our sponsor and display your banner here

New to Erkennungsmarkens

Article about: I just picked this up last night at a buddies house. I am new to these. He said that they are for replacements that could basically go into any field. If you have any insight on these let me

Default New to Erkennungsmarkens

I just picked this up last night at a buddies house. I am new to these. He said that they are for replacements that could basically go into any field. If you have any insight on these let me know.

Ray

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC_0026.jpg 
Views:	33 
Size:	234.8 KB 
ID:	439337Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC_0025.jpg 
Views:	32 
Size:	233.1 KB 
ID:	439329

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
    P
    Many

?

Default Re: New to Erkennungsmarkens

Hi Ray,

Well Wehrkreis-Ersatz-Depot is Defense-zone Replacement Depot, which is pretty non-specific; the only thing it tells us is that it's from Wehrkreis VI, the headquarters of which were in Münster, and the major cities of which Münster, Dortmund, Düsseldorf and Köln. It's not a 'unit' per se, it's just a major area gathering point for administration purposes; there were many real military Ersatz units in WKVI, so this men assembled here could have gone to any of them. I recall having seen at least one Soldbuch where one of these Depots was listed as the Erkennungsmarke, and the man was only at the Depot for a day or two before he was sent to a proper replcement unit (Infanterie-Ersatz or whatever). Once the war was well and truly underway and there were so many replacement units in a densely-populated Wehrkreis like VI, this kind of thing makes perfect sense.
    Ohhhhh- pillage then burn...

?