Rg-militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Real or fake ??????

Article about: our dog tags were made by a Co. whenwe went in the army, i don't thinkanyone made their own

Default Real or fake ??????

If real , what can be said of it ?
    Thank you
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Real or fake  ??????  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Real or fake  ??????
    P
    Many

?

Default Re: Real or fake ??????

Hi mate,

Im no expert on WWII German ID tags, but I would say that this one is a fake.
    Going on what I have learnt on this forum, I say this because of the following:

1: Spelling mistake, I believe that Jagererers should be spelt JAEGERERS. (I dont believe that this unit existed as spelt anyway)
    2: There is no hole in the bottom half of the tag, (when looking at it as it is posted)
    3: The lettering, should, I believe, be on an obvious straight line alignment.

As usual, I am willing to be corrected by those more knowledgeable than I.

Regards etc

Ian D

AKA: Jimpy
    Last edited by jimpy; 03-14-2011 at 08:34 PM. Reason: Grammar/spelling

I believe that it is JAGER in German. In English it is "Jaeger ". Or so says the dictionary.
    I'm thinkin PZ JAGER is tank fighter and ERS is Ersatz
    Thanks

?

Quote by panzer9209 View Post
    I believe that it is JAGER in German. In English it is "Jaeger ". Or so says the dictionary.
    I'm thinkin PZ JAGER is tank fighter and ERS is Ersatz
    Thanks
    You're right on that mate.
    It looks like the wording has been "run into one" which is why I am seeing it as I posted above, ie: "Jagerers".
    If its a genuine ID disc, that would give you "Infantry Panzer Jager Ersatz Btn/Regt 213"

Whether it is genuine or not, you will have to wait for others more knowledgeable than me to come in on it.

Regards etc

Ian D

BTW, a "Panzer Jager" was, literally, a "tank hunter"
    Last edited by jimpy; 03-14-2011 at 08:53 PM. Reason: Addition

?