MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

NKVD border guard

Article about: I just picked up what I believe is a M-43 NKVD border guards gymnasterka. If I am wrong please correct me. I am new to collecting uniforms so any help would be great. Where would the stamp b

Default Re: NKVD border guard

more
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture NKVD border guard   NKVD border guard  

NKVD border guard  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement NKVD border guard
    P
    Many

front pocket and button
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture NKVD border guard   NKVD border guard  

NKVD border guard  

The shoulder board stars are silvered.

No doubt the gymnasterka is authentic, but I am trying to determine the time of manufacture. IMO, definitely postwar, but I would like to narrow it down a bit by the actual colour of the fabric. In some images the fabric appears to be khaki. However, in others it appears to be an olive-drab.

If you could snap some images in natural light, it would be an enormous help.

While you are there, take shots of the obverse and reverse of those wound stripes, and the obverse and reverse of the shoulder-boards. As for the latter, I am curious about the damage to the edgings.
    Non nobis, Domine, non nobis, sed nomini tuo da gloriam!

Well good old California is not allowing any natural sunlight lol

I will post some pictures later do the best of my ability later on. Thanks for all the help!