Militaria Romandie - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

1915 Pickelhaube

Article about: Hi there, new member and have been searching for a like minded group to post questions to for a couple of years now. I have been collecting for several years although drifted from relics at

Default Re: 1915 Pickelhaube

seigfried.....the dealer you bought the helmet from is Andy Beale, he and his partner are well known in collecting circles, and not for the right reasons ! he shut down the site you used, but still trades on his other site, UKM Sales perhaps you can contact him and point out its authenticity and a hint at tradng standards..........

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement 1915 Pickelhaube
    P
    Many

Hi,
    I have been on both sites this afternoon and admit total defeat.
    The Wappen looks to be original, old soldering and pressed with detail on reverse and it is attached via leather wedges but they are new enough to have been cut this afternoon!
    I have sent an initial note to the seller and will also have the helmet assessed by an auctioneer friend of the family. I also have several solicitors and lawyers as friends so all is not lost. But certainly something that I can do without.
    I have been reading previous posts on the same subject and it is a shame that articles sold as historical pieces are not as they seem.
    I am afraid that I will probably not be in a position to replace this fake with a real one now. It took a lot of saving to even get the money together to buy this one as it was in a sale on the site.
    Absolutely gutted as it was sat in pride of place in the midst of my small collection. Now I am loathed to allow it anywhere near my other pieces.
    Going forward I will ensure that I check with you all before I make any purchases.
    Many thanks for your help today, painful though it has been, at least I am better informed and a little bit wiser.