Rg-militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

1915 Pickelhaube

Article about: What kind of sanding did you do? Sandpaper? What grit?

Default 1915 Pickelhaube

Hi Guy´s, I am brand new here, and very happy to have found this forum :-)

I have been collecting german stuff from ww1 and ww2 for about 30 years on and off. Right now is on !!

I just came across a Pickelhaube my self about a month ago ! It is stamped 1915 and with the mentioned painted iron fittings. Unfortunately the chinstrap cocardes and front "charnier"? on the cap is missing. Does anyone knows if repros are available anywhere, cause I have only come across brass repros ?

I got the helmet from a friend of mine, whos father bought it in Belgium in 1925 !! The missing parts is because my friend used it for playing when he was about 7 years old !! But when you get it for free, you don´t complain too much :-)

Best regards
    Marc

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement 1915 Pickelhaube
    P
    Many

Default Re: 1915 Pickelhaube

Hi Marc and welcome ! its great to see more Imperial collectors here !..post some photographs of your Pickelhaube, an M1915 model by your description....chinstraps and cockades are available on both Germany & France E-Bay, have a look there.... it is quite acceptable to put these replica parts on a Pickelhaube.
    Prost ! Steve.

Attachment 454356Hi Steve, I already bought cocardes and chinstrap on e-bay.de, but I could only find the "charnier" for the front cap in silverplated brass, I need it in iron !
    I guess I will have to make one myself. I have mounted the brass one for now, but I don´t think I will keep it that way !
    I am collecting both ww1 and ww2 german stuff, but I really enjoy the period around the turn of the century, it was then modern warfare developed a lot :-)

Venlig hilsen
    Marc

ps Just a quick one with my I-Phone ;-)
    Attached Images Attached Images 1915 Pickelhaube 
    Last edited by oradour; 01-22-2013 at 03:07 PM.