Militaria-Reisig & Antiquitäten - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Is this 1916 - 1918 German Helmet Chin Strap Authentic

Article about: Hello Would people please give me the opinions on this chinstrap. Mine is it looks good but I'm still learning.

?

.....I think they may of 'over-aged' it if it is indeed a replica
    Last edited by olboy; 06-26-2019 at 11:36 AM.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Is this 1916 - 1918 German Helmet Chin Strap Authentic
    P
    Many

Can you slide/loosen the leather a bit away from the buckle without damaging it to see the expected indentations, discoloration in the leather from the buckle resting on the leather for decades ??
    D.

?

Unfortunately no as it's not mine and for sale

I've just been on Pickelhaubes.com, and there is a thread about chinstraps. Right at the bottom of the thread are some buckles of the type that you posted. I have owned several Pickelhaubes over the years, and none of them had this style of buckle, so I was more than likely wrong in my assumption.

Cheers,
    Steve

Hi Wayne,

A little more information for you, and I suppose that really I should have done this before... I consulted my copy of the book by Jurgen Kraus - which is generally considered to be the book to consult... The German Army In the First World War (Verlag Militaria Publications) Somewhat pricey to buy, but there are over 600 pages packed with valuable information. I've taken some scans of several Pickelhaube shown in the book and concentrated on the area of the buckles, one in particular looked like the type you posted. But when I enhanced the picture it no longer looked like it... 'Sods law' I suppose, but you can see what I mean about the 'flat' finish to the buckles in general.. I hope the pictures help you reach a conclusion of your own... Click on images to enlarge.

Cheers,
    Steve