MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here
Page 79 of 121 FirstFirst ... 29 69 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 89 ... LastLast

Cargo Submarine U-Deutschland Artifacts and Model

Article about: Steve: Thanks for the follow-up on Mont Alto. It looks like Prusse was probably the engineer superintendent of construction on both the Deutschland and the Bremen. His official designation i

Good evening gentlemen,

Last week I stated that I had the granddaddy of all U-Deutschland artifacts, well here goes. Seven years ago, just after I started getting interested in the U-Deutschland, I was looking on eBay and discovered somebody selling this model for around $5000, and it was gorgeous. I just started trading e-mails with Dwight and sent him the link and we both laughed about it because it was so expensive. However, I kept the man's name and telephone number and I contacted a few years later, but the price was still a little too high. Now after 10 years (the amount of time he has had it) he was ready to do some horse trading. He lived in Buffalo New York and it was a 4.5 hour drive away from my house. It just so happened the day of the Memorial in Baltimore three weeks ago, I had a be in Erie Pennsylvania for training the next day. Therefore, I could not make it to the event in Baltimore. I had to travel on Sunday. So I figured Erie he was pretty close to Buffalo, so I decided to give the owner of the model a call and see if he would allow me to stop and at least photograph it. He agreed and off I went.